6.2 Screenprinting (Class, Part 2)

Posted: May 15, 2010 in Eye Candy, Hand Candy
Tags:

Making the screen under the light. Of course, I couldn’t have asked for anything better when it comes to an image. Yah for old typewriters!

*

Washing out the ink from the screen. Cool and ew.

*

The end result: Totebag with Typewriter. I am a happy, happy girl!
*

So, I learned a lot in the class. I actually believe that once I am no longer gimping around, I will be able to make the t-shirts that I want to make. Which is saying a lot from a one-day class. I’m very much looking forward to trying my hand at the task, and having fun t-shirts to wear (and share) this summer. Once I get a chance to do those, I’ll be adding to this lesson, of course, and showing the follow-up results!

Spreading your ink, one stroke at a time!

*

Comments
  1. Landon says:

    Beautiful! And just the right symbolic touch for you. Those old typewriters have the mystic strength of a landmark–like a mountain or the Grand Canyon.

  2. Katherine says:

    Dude, this is SO awesome! Love the image. Love the learning. Love the tote. Can’t wait to see some tees!!!

    You still got metal (soldering) work on your list? I’m a metal worker myself, so I’m looking forward to that one.

  3. Annette says:

    I knew it would be an awesome tote. One of the biggest mistakes people make when screen printing (or using masks or stencils) is rushing through the process and having a sloppy image.

    You did an excellent job! By the way, how’s the ankle?

  4. Aha! I don’t take any credit for this, actually. It was all our instructor. We’ll see how nice they come out when I’m on my own!

    Katherine — I didn’t know that! How cool! I wish I could come and pick your brain. Yes, it’s on the schedule, although slightly changed due to the ankley bit.

    The ankle is much better. I’m still crutching around, but I can feel it healing. Soon, soon!

  5. Gina Marie says:

    So very cool!!!!! You could write a modern foxfire book about all of the craft knowledge you’re gathering this year. Oh, and I wanna be a metal worker!

    Loves,

    G

Leave a Reply

