6.1 Screenprinting (Class, Part 1)

Posted: May 12, 2010 in Eye Candy, Hand Candy
Tags:

Screenprinting guru, Andy Cane (yes, that’s his real name), teaches us how to make our screen printing frame at The 100th Monkey Studio. It’s as hard as it looks (although, to be honest, I didn’t attempt it, as you can see my crutches from last week’s “lesson” resting in the background).

*

I’ve always loved the idea of screenprinting my own shirts. It’s one of those art skills that would produce something meaningful, fun and, most importantly, wearable. The wearable bit is important, not surprisingly. My favorite kinds of art are the ones that go places with me, that I can show off anywhere and everywhere, that I can share with friends, family, students, people on the street.

I don’t want to go blow-by-blow with the how-to of this (and I’m not willing to wax eloquent — or, I suppose in this case, print eloquent, because I’ve done that the past few weeks with Letting Go and Ankle Breaking, and honestly I’m exhausted of emotional stuff, so I’ll stick to the concrete here) , but suffice to say that it’s both harder and easier than I expected.

The hard part? Making your own screens and other equipment (yes, you can buy them, but they’re pretty expensive. Making them is oh-so-cheaper).  Also, making the actual image on the mesh, which requires a test to figure out exactly how long you need to leave it under the light in order to make the proper exposure (like a photograph).

The easy part? Actually printing. Granted, it goes a lot easier when you have a friend (or better yet, a screenprinting expert) talking you through it and holding pieces parts. But still, I was impressed with how easy everything came together.

Tomorrow, I’ll show off the mesh part itself, and, of course, the final result (which was a tote bag, with the coolest ever print on it!).

Breaking bones and brains, one week at a time, s.

*

The rubber hose goes in the hole… or the doggy gets it. There are more technical terms for all the tools and equipment you see here, but mostly it was a lot of sweat and a few cuts from the plastic knife.

*

Making a screen is easier in pairs. But not much easier, truly.

*

Comments
  1. Annette says:

    I am sure your awesome tote turned out quite well. And even if you weren’t a gimp, screen printing is a bit hard (unless you want to go fast and not care that you make a mess of it).

    Sorry to hear about your ankle though, that sucker looks like it hurts!

    *comforts you*

    PS: I agree about people who’ve been injured vs. people who haven’t. I’ve been on crutches so many times I’d probably not only open the door for you – but offer to get your coffee for you while you waited (with your foot up of course).

  2. Landon says:

    Cool art form. Have never tried it, but it seems to call for a special kind of coordination of the creative urge and physical dexterity–all with an eye on the . How Zen is that!!

  3. Landon says:

    ARRGH! Try –all with an eye on the clock!

  4. Aw, A, I missed you lots and lots! Where’ve you been!?>!>

    That’s funny, L. I read your second comment before your first, and I assumed from your reaction that you hadn’t missed the whole word, but that you’d just missed an ‘l’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

