2.3 Figure Drawing (Men Are Hard)

Posted: April 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

Ahahahaha. My first attempt at drawing a man. Um… You would think from this image that I hadn’t spent any time at all with naked men. Jeez.

*

Men are difficult. I know, I know this is something I should have learned a long time ago. And, truly, I did.

But in this case, they’re difficult to draw. My pen doesn’t want to do straight lines. It wants to do curves. Pretty, soft, smooth rounded things. Men’s bodies confuse me. You would think that I would have spent enough time with men’s bodies that this would no longer be the case.

I wonder if this is why so many more artists seem to focus on the female form than on the male form. I always thought it was because women’s bodies were perceived as having some inherent beauty that men’s lack. But now I wonder if it’s just that the straight, muscular lines are more difficult or more complicated. Or maybe it’s just me.

I’m not a very good student, either. By which I mean: I’m impatient. I want to make something or break something or smush something or build something. The idea of “study”, the very thought of “draw sixteen perfect circles and you will end up with a head” makes me feel crazy. I’ve never been that kind of learner. I need to jump in, get my hands dirty, make six thousand mistakes while yelling, “I got it! I got it!” as my instructor sighs again and again over my shoulder. And then, in the end, something will finally click and I’ll go, “Oh, right, I get that thing you tried to tell about six months ago that I couldn’t really hear then, but thought I did.”

Learning is complicated, which is part of its joy. And I know enough about my learning process to know that I can’t sit and draw circle after circle — even though in the end, it would make me better. I must push my pen forward as fast as it will go, and see what comes out of it.

My second attempt at drawing men went -slightly- better. But not much. At least now they almost look like men. Of course, it didn’t help that the man’s image I was drawing from (in the book) has at least three legs, and I don’t mean -that- kind of third leg. I mean, what? Are they TRYING to confuse me?

*

Kiss kiss bang bang, s.

*

“A drawing is simply a line going for a walk.” ~Paul Klee


Comments
  1. Katherine says:

    Ah ha…the manly drawing indeed! I definitely can see improvement between your first attempt & second. The first one buddy had some back & the 2nd one definitely looked more man ass. Nice work!

    I can totally see what you mean by the frustration of “studying” something vs. just doing it to figure it out (pun intended!).

  2. Hahaha. I know, right! I gave him a girl bubble butt! 🙂

Leave a Reply

