2.2 Figure Drawing (S-Curves)

Posted: April 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

Spent ten minutes reading about the S-curve of the body. Then drew. In pen. Oops.

Apparently, the body is shaped like an S, like a snack and a snake, like a Shanna-licious. I started wondering if it should be called a Sody instead, but that just sounds awful. We are made up of lots of s-curves, it seems. Our spines, our thighs, our calves…

My book says, “The artist should always be able to identify the dominant curve of any pose. It is this curve that gives grace and liveliness to a drawing.”

Which is really the only part of the chapter I understood.

I also wonder, belatedly, if I was supposed to draw in pen. The drawings in the books are all done with what looks like pretty charcoal pencils. I’m using a Bic. This isn’t surprising — I do everything in pen, including crosswords and sudoku puzzles. Still, it doesn’t allow for much editing. Once it’s down, it’s down.

Tomorrow, I’m going to read about Structure & Tension and then try to draw something from real life. Well, from a photograph since I’m the only person here and the dog, I don’t think, doesn’t count as figure drawing. Or maybe she does.

Firing your synapses, one week at a time, s.

*

“A work of art goes through many phases of development, but in each phase it is always a work of art. (Therein lies the importance of sketches.) A work of art is finished, from the point of view of the artist, when feeling and perception have resulted in a spiritual synthesis.” ~Hans Hofmann

Comments
  1. Katherine says:

    WOW…I think that’s pretty darn good for attempt #1. Mine probably would have still looked like the stick girl with bunny slippers even after reading the books! Gonna attempt any male figures?

    Plus, I’m pretty sure the dog counts…although may best be saved for a different week of learning!

  2. I AM going to try some guys. They look so much more intimidating though! Women are all soft curves, and the guys are lots of straight lines. I don’t know how to draw straight lines yet 🙂

    I’m on it. Any guy in particular you’d like? – grin –

Leave a Reply

