2.1 Figure Drawing (Prep)

Posted: April 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

My typical “figure drawing.” Nowhere to go but up!

*

Lots of people that I admire have artistic skills. My mom and my sister both have that ability to make things look beautiful, whether they’re drawing or collage-ing or felting. My friends Nancy and Claire and Nikki and Annie and Brad (just to name a few) are multi-talented artists who can make pretty things with pencils and pens and paper and crayons and paint.

I have a few art skills. I taught myself to make books one year. And I’ve become decent behind a camera. But that’s … about it. The majority of my creative, artsy skills center around words (and the occasional handmade holiday/new year’s card).

I never believed I could draw (ha — I’m still pretty sure I don’t believe it). But, as an artist friend of mine recently said, “What do you mean? You want to paint, you pick up the brush and you paint.” After I got over the initial shell-shock of that and the mini excuses (“Well, sure it’s easy for him to say. He’s been an artist all his life. What does he know about not being an artist?”), I decided he was probably right. He didn’t say, “You pick up the brush and you paint a masterpiece.” He just said, “You pick up the brush and you paint.”

I don’t have any paints here at the place where I’m staying, but there ARE a lot of art books and a lot of paper and a couple of writing utensils. I like the idea of drawing humans, bodies, especially since they’re often naked, which is how I most like bodies anyway. So, this week I shall be tackling the art of drawing bodies. And, as you can see by my classic and bound-for-glory image above, I have no where to go but up!

The books I’ll be using to learn figure drawing. Pulled off the shelf at random.

*

Firing your neurons, one week at a time, s.

*

“Matisse makes a drawing, then he makes a copy of it. He recopies it five times, ten times, always clarifying the line. He’s convinced that the last, the most stripped down, is the best, the purest, the definitive one; and in fact, most of the time, it was the first. In drawing, nothing is better than the first attempt.” ~Pablo Picasso

Comments
  1. I love your figure drawing up top, and–I’m totally serious–I think it’s artistically quite accomplished. There are stick figures and there are stick figures … and yours is well composed and well proportioned, with strong, confident, economical lines that convey motion, vitality, and personality with just a few strokes.

    • Oh, Jeremy, you are too kind for your own good! Careful, or I’ll show up on your doorstep and make you teach me some musical-y thing! 😛

      And, I realized only after I posted it that my stick figure apparently has bunny slippers on. They’re supposed to laces. Now I wish I’d given her bunny ears too. And a tail!

Leave a Reply

