3.2 Villanelle (As Sandwich)

Posted: April 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

Sandwich villanelles are the hardest to write.

*

Today’s villanelle, inspired by the sandwich villanelle cartoon above. Of course, even when I set out to write funny, it never quite turns out that way. Must be something in my nature that I have to find the tragedy in all that I do. It’s a curse. Heh.

Grocery Aisle Villanelle / After the Divorce

*
Only three things I need to buy.
Aisles and aisles of things I could choose
So many options I just might cry.
*
Just the makings for a martini dry –
olives and vermouth and a glass for booze.
Only three things I need to buy.
*
Black, brown, oiled or cured with lye –
I just need something to infuse.
So many options I just might cry.
*
Twelve kinds of vermouth that I must try.
Even the labels are enough to confuse.
Only three things I need to buy.
*
Glass or plastic, upright or slanted and sly…
who cares the shape as long as it’s used?
So many options I just might cry.
*
Forget the fancy drink, why bother to lie?
A couple of shots and I’ll take a snooze.
Only three things I cannot buy.
So few options I just might cry.

*

Firing your neurons (or not), one rhyme at a time, s.

*

“A poem is never finished, only abandoned.” ~Paul Valery

Comments
  1. [...] This Poem: Working on the Villanelle this week over at Chapter 38, so I’m killing two birds with one stone, as it were. Expect more villanelles this week as I [...]

Leave a Reply

